Reply
Occasional Advisor
gfisbeck
Posts: 9
0
Accepted Solution

Polycom GAB on Tandberg Endpoints

I recently upgraded my CMA from 5.3 to 5.5.  One of the justifications for the upgrade was better support for the few Tandberg endpoints we have throughout our environment.  Specifically, we were looking forward to being able to push our GAB to the Tandberg endpoints.

 

From the 5.4 Release Notes, I see the following:


Enable TANDBERG Endpoints Global Address Book Access
With CMA system, users of the TANDBERG 150, 990, 880, 770 MXP,
TANDBERG C Series, and TANDBERG Edge can access the Polycom Global
Address Book, so they can see the endpoints in the Global Address Book.
(Note that any third-party endpoint that is registered to the CMA system
gatekeeper is displayed in the Global Address Book.)

 

Note:
Some companies select an administrative password that is used for all endpoints
and regularly updated through provisioning.Endpoint Management Overview
Polycom, Inc. 137
The timing of the endpoint’s connection with the Global Address Book can
affect the success of its connection. We recommend the following process:

 

1.  At the endpoint, enter the information required for directory set up
including the Polycom Global Address Book/CMA system IP address
and the path. To do this, on the endpoint, go to Endpoint Configuration
> General > External Phone Book Settings.

 

2. Wait for the connections to take effect.
3. At the CMA system, go to Endpoint > Monitor View and verify the
endpoint’s Global Address Book connection status is green.

 

 

I have configured my Tandberg endpoint as instructed, and the "Directory Registration" field in CMA is now green, but the endpoint still does not see any GAB entries.  Does anyone know how to accomplish this?

 

Thanks in advance,

 


Greg

 

Polycom Employee
simons
Posts: 258
0

Re: Polycom GAB on Tandberg Endpoints

What path are you using on the Tandbergs?

 

S.

Occasional Advisor
gfisbeck
Posts: 9
0

Re: Polycom GAB on Tandberg Endpoints

simons,

 

The Phonebook configuration looks like this:

 

closed Phonebook

Thanks-
Greg
Polycom Employee
simons
Posts: 258
0

Re: Polycom GAB on Tandberg Endpoints

The patch looks right. The reason I ask is because the path for the CMA is case sensitive. What series/model of your Tandberg system?

 

Here is a comment made from another customer using the C-series endpoint.


Advanced Settings
Phonebook

ID: default
Type: TMS (options were TMS or Callway)
Path: TMS/Public/external/phonebook/PhoneBookService.asmx

 

**The path is case sensitive so if it looks similar to what is already there, still copy and paste this PATH into your C-Series phonebook setup menu...


Once the changes have been made, you have to go to the C-Series and see if the directory is updated since you cannot access the directory from the WEB.

 

S.

 

Occasional Advisor
gfisbeck
Posts: 9
0

Re: Polycom GAB on Tandberg Endpoints

simons,

 

I am using a C40 codec.

 

I ran a packet capture this morning, and it looks like CMA is sending back an HTTP500 "Internal Server Error" when the Tandberg tries to connect.

 

POST /TMS/Public/external/phonebook/PhoneBookService.asmx HTTP/1.1
Host: 10.12.17.14
Accept: */*
Content-Type: text/xml; charset=utf-8
Content-Length: 990


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<env:Envelope xmlns:env="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" xmlns="http://www.tandberg.net/2004/06/PhoneBookSearch/">
  <env:Body xmlns="http://www.tandberg.net/2004/06/PhoneBookSearch/">
    <Search> <Identification>
    <SystemName>adc-mobile-vc01</SystemName>
    <MACAddress>00:50:60:0C:E5:EA</MACAddress>
    <IPAddress>10.17.1.47</IPAddress>
    <IPAddressV6 type='Local'>fe80::250:60ff:fe0c:e5ea</IPAddressV6>
    <ProductType>TANDBERG Codec</ProductType>
    <ProductID>TANDBERG Profile 52 C40</ProductID>
    <SWVersion>TC4.2.0.260857</SWVersion>
    <HWBoard>101681-1 [06]</HWBoard>
    <SerialNumber>************</SerialNumber>
  </Identification>
      <CaseSensitiveSearch>false</CaseSensitiveSearch>
      <SearchPath/>
      <SearchString/>
      <SearchType>Free</SearchType>
      <MaxResult>20</MaxResult>
      <Scope>SubTree</Scope>
      <RangeInclusive>false</RangeInclusive>
    </Search>
  </env:Body>
</env:Envelope>

 

HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error.
Date: Fri, 28 Oct 2011 14:20:51 GMT
Server: Apache
X-AspNet-Version: 1.1.4322
Cache-Control: private
Content-Length: 483
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/xml; charset=utf-8


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<soap:Envelope xmlns:soap="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema">
  <soap:Body>
    <soap:Fault>
      <faultcode>soap:Client</faultcode>
      <faultstring>Unable to handle request without a valid action parameter. Please supply a valid soap action.</faultstring>
      <detail />
    </soap:Fault>
  </soap:Body>
</soap:Envelope>

Polycom Employee
simons
Posts: 258
0

Re: Polycom GAB on Tandberg Endpoints

Well dang. Let me look into this. Is your Tandberg endpoint registered to the CMA for Gatekeeper services? If not, give that a try.

 

S.

Occasional Advisor
gfisbeck
Posts: 9
0

Re: Polycom GAB on Tandberg Endpoints

Yes.  The endpoint is registered to the CMA for gatekeeper services.

Occasional Visitor
hydog
Posts: 1

Re: Polycom GAB on Tandberg Endpoints

Downgrade your Tandberg unit to 4.1 and i bet it works.

I see from your log that you are running 4.2. Something breaks the linkage of the GAB and C series codecs in 4.2

Occasional Advisor
gfisbeck
Posts: 9
0

Re: Polycom GAB on Tandberg Endpoints

hydog,

 

You were exactly right.  First,  I tried to upgrade to 4.2.1, thinking that maybe Cisco fixed the problem in a later release, but it still didn't work.  When I downgraded to 4.1.2, it worked perfectly.

 

Thanks so much for the help!

 

Visitor
Jonny5
Posts: 3
0

Re: Polycom GAB on Tandberg Endpoints

Sorry to necro a thread, but we have a CMA running version 5.5 and have just aquired a Cisco EX60 running the TC5 software version and am getting the same issue as the origional poster. The Green arrow is showing on the CMA saying directory registration successful but when I look on the endpoint there is nothing listed in the directory. 

 

Do we know if this is on the cards to be fixed either in CMA version 6 or in the TC5.1.0 software for the endpoint. I cannot see anything in the release notes. 

 

I have downgraded the unit to TC4.1.2 for the moment. The reason that I ask is there is this Cavat in the Cisco release notes 

[quote]

New Camera sensor on integrated cameras
For units with integrated camera (EX60/90 and MX200/300) the camera software is embedded into the
application software and hence requires software support. Units shipped with the E4 sensor cannot be
downgraded or upgraded to any software version lower than TC5.1.1 unless support is specifically
documented in the release notes for the software you are downgrading to.[/quote] 

 

So if we were to aquire one of these units with the E4 sensor then they will not be able to have an address book from the CMA. 

 

 

Thanks

 

Jonny