Reply
DBT
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 5
0

Base station pairing - SoundStation2W

Hi there,

 

Does anyone know if the original base station and Soundstation 2W will only work if they are paired as a set? 

 

Or are the base stations and  2W's interchangeable with other 2W devices and base stations? 

 

Thanks

 

 

 

Polycom Employee & Community Manager
Posts: 13,487
0

Re: Base station pairing - SoundStation2W

Hello DBT,

welcome to the Polycom Community.

You can always pair a SoundStation 2W base with another SoundStation 2W station if they support the same region.


Please ensure to provide some feedback if this reply has helped you so other users can profit from your experience.

Best Regards

Steffen Baier

Polycom Global Services

Please be aware:

The purpose of these forums is to allow community members collaborate and help each other.
Questions posted here do not follow Polycom’s SLA guidelines.
If you require assistance from Polycom technical support, please open a
web service request or call us .

The above is necessary in order to track issue internally within Polycom.

You are welcome to post more questions or configuration or logs for other community members to look at but if your issue requires a fix via Polycom you must go via the official support structure.

Please ensure you always check the VoIP , Video Endpoint , Skype for Business , PSTN or RPM FAQ's

Please remember, if you see a post that helped you , and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accept as Solution".

This forum reply or post is based upon my personal experience and does not reflect the opinion or view of my employer.
Polycom employee participation within this community is not mandatory and any post or FAQ article provided by myself is done either during my working hours or outside working hours, in my private time, and may be answered on weekends, bank holidays or personal holidays.
DBT
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 5
0

Re: Base station pairing - SoundStation2W

 

Thanks Steffen.

 

I was trying to gage if there was an issue with age of these Polycoms and their base stations or if it was because they were not paired with their original base stations and /or Polycoms.

 

We have them failing quite regularly where we need to re-pair the base and I noticed some had matching serial numbers on base and 2W and some didn't.

 

These were in our environment before I started so age wise I think they probably 8 years old.

 

 

Polycom Employee & Community Manager
Posts: 13,487
0

Re: Base station pairing - SoundStation2W

Hello DBT,

If you have the serial I can check, they usually start with 2 and normally represent the year aka 207 or similar would be 2007

Please ensure to provide some feedback if this reply has helped you so other users can profit from your experience.

Best Regards

Steffen Baier

Polycom Global Services

Please be aware:

The purpose of these forums is to allow community members collaborate and help each other.
Questions posted here do not follow Polycom’s SLA guidelines.
If you require assistance from Polycom technical support, please open a
web service request or call us .

The above is necessary in order to track issue internally within Polycom.

You are welcome to post more questions or configuration or logs for other community members to look at but if your issue requires a fix via Polycom you must go via the official support structure.

Please ensure you always check the VoIP , Video Endpoint , Skype for Business , PSTN or RPM FAQ's

Please remember, if you see a post that helped you , and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accept as Solution".

This forum reply or post is based upon my personal experience and does not reflect the opinion or view of my employer.
Polycom employee participation within this community is not mandatory and any post or FAQ article provided by myself is done either during my working hours or outside working hours, in my private time, and may be answered on weekends, bank holidays or personal holidays.
DBT
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 5
0

Re: Base station pairing - SoundStation2W

Hi Steffen

 

Here you go

 

2W s/n F206510318073

Base F209040210081

Polycom Employee & Community Manager
Posts: 13,487
0

Re: Base station pairing - SoundStation2W

Hello DBT,

F206510318073 sold 10/03/2007

F209040210081 sold 10/06/2010

 

So they SS2W is over ten years old

Please ensure to provide some feedback if this reply has helped you so other users can profit from your experience.

Best Regards

Steffen Baier

Polycom Global Services

Please be aware:

The purpose of these forums is to allow community members collaborate and help each other.
Questions posted here do not follow Polycom’s SLA guidelines.
If you require assistance from Polycom technical support, please open a
web service request or call us .

The above is necessary in order to track issue internally within Polycom.

You are welcome to post more questions or configuration or logs for other community members to look at but if your issue requires a fix via Polycom you must go via the official support structure.

Please ensure you always check the VoIP , Video Endpoint , Skype for Business , PSTN or RPM FAQ's

Please remember, if you see a post that helped you , and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accept as Solution".

This forum reply or post is based upon my personal experience and does not reflect the opinion or view of my employer.
Polycom employee participation within this community is not mandatory and any post or FAQ article provided by myself is done either during my working hours or outside working hours, in my private time, and may be answered on weekends, bank holidays or personal holidays.
DBT
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 5
0

Re: Base station pairing - SoundStation2W

great thanks.

 

What do you expect the average lifetime of a 2W and base station to be?

 

If there somewhere i could send all these serial numbers of bases and Polycoms to get their dates? There are quite a lot

Polycom Employee & Community Manager
Posts: 13,487
0

Re: Base station pairing - SoundStation2W

Hello DBT,

The FXXX code usually means when they where manufactured aka the F206 was manufactured in 2006 and the F209 was manufactured in 2009.

 

I do not think we have a public overview of the minimum time they should work but your time range sounds OK. 


Please ensure to provide some feedback if this reply has helped you so other users can profit from your experience.

Best Regards

Steffen Baier

Polycom Global Services

Please be aware:

The purpose of these forums is to allow community members collaborate and help each other.
Questions posted here do not follow Polycom’s SLA guidelines.
If you require assistance from Polycom technical support, please open a
web service request or call us .

The above is necessary in order to track issue internally within Polycom.

You are welcome to post more questions or configuration or logs for other community members to look at but if your issue requires a fix via Polycom you must go via the official support structure.

Please ensure you always check the VoIP , Video Endpoint , Skype for Business , PSTN or RPM FAQ's

Please remember, if you see a post that helped you , and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accept as Solution".

This forum reply or post is based upon my personal experience and does not reflect the opinion or view of my employer.
Polycom employee participation within this community is not mandatory and any post or FAQ article provided by myself is done either during my working hours or outside working hours, in my private time, and may be answered on weekends, bank holidays or personal holidays.
Highlighted
DBT
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 5
0

Re: Base station pairing - SoundStation2W

great thanks for clarificaiton. I think we may start culling anything pre-2010. if there are any serial numbers which dont make sense, I will get in contact to clarify the serial numbers.

 

They are all running the latest firmware.