Reply
Occasional Advisor
Posts: 8
0

Polycom VVX 500 video without camera

[ Edited ]

Is it possible for a VVX 500 without a camera to accept H.264 Video streams? 

 

We have an Algo 8039 door box via FreePBX. The VVX 500 can see the camera stream if we plug in a camera, but we were hoping not to use cameras everywhere. Without the camera, we just get a black screen.

 

The camera does put the Polycom video codec at the top of the codec list, BUT the door box just uses H.264.

 

If cameras are required for incoming video, that would be good to know because the additional cost was a surprise.

 

Polycom Employee & Community Manager
Posts: 14,030
0

Re: Polycom VVX 500 video without camera

Hello anakaoka,

welcome to the Polycom Community.

It is always useful to include the currently used UC Software version as issues experienced or a question asked may already be addressed in a newer release.

Please also include if you are using a SIP server or a LYNC / Skype for Business server.

This also allows yourself and others to check against current software release notes, Administrator Guides or FAQ post’s.

The above is also stated in the "Must Read First" and is the absolute minimum requirement every new post should include. .

In addition providing us with this basic information gives Polycom an idea what Software Versions are used in the field and avoids wasting time trying to troubleshoot issues which have already been addressed.

Therefore the Polycom VoIP FAQ contains this post here:

Question: How can I find out my SIP or UC Software Version of my Phone?
Resolution: Please check here

 

I had asked about this internally and yes it should be possible with standard settings but not knowing any details makes it hard to answer this.


Please ensure to provide some feedback if this reply has helped you so other users can profit from your experience.

Best Regards

Steffen Baier

Polycom Global Services

Please be aware:

The purpose of these forums is to allow community members collaborate and help each other.
Questions posted here do not follow Polycom’s SLA guidelines.
If you require assistance from Polycom technical support, please open a
web service request or call us .

The above is necessary in order to track issue internally within Polycom.

You are welcome to post more questions or configuration or logs for other community members to look at but if your issue requires a fix via Polycom you must go via the official support structure.

Please ensure you always check the VoIP , Video Endpoint , Skype for Business , PSTN or RPM FAQ's

Please remember, if you see a post that helped you , and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accept as Solution".

This forum reply or post is based upon my personal experience and does not reflect the opinion or view of my employer.
Polycom employee participation within this community is not mandatory and any post or FAQ article provided by myself is done either during my working hours or outside working hours, in my private time, and may be answered on weekends, bank holidays or personal holidays.
Occasional Advisor
Posts: 8
0

Re: Polycom VVX 500 video without camera

(2) phones running 5.6.0  

Running H.264 on Asterisk.

 

The phone with camera sends video.

The phone without camera is running H.264 when we do a sip debug. but the Phone without camera just shows a black screen.

Occasional Advisor
Posts: 8
0

Re: Polycom VVX 500 video without camera

Everyone assumes it can work, but no one can get it to work. No matter the firmware.

 

Documentation from Polycom is lacking in this setup, Polycom assumes all phones would have a camera. 

Polycom Employee & Community Manager
Posts: 14,030
0

Re: Polycom VVX 500 video without camera

Hello anakaoka,

As I got back to the office today I had a chance to test this and either registered to Asterisk or a simply IP call using UC Software 5.6.0 a VVX with a camera attached calling a VVX with no Camera attached (aka VVX50X or VVX60x) always shows the received video using the standard factory defaults.

 

The latest currently supported Admin Guide 5.5.0 shows this support in a table in the Video Parameters section on page 391.

 

If this still fails using a factory reset phone and simply IP calling then get this into support.


In order to raise a support ticket you need to work with your Polycom reseller as they need to do this for you. End Customers are usually unable to open a ticket directly with Polycom support.

If this is some sort of an Internet discounter please post either your phone's MAC address or your Polycom devices serial so I can look up who would be able to support you. This may not be who you purchased the Polycom device from.

Please ensure to provide some feedback if this reply has helped you so other users can profit from your experience.

Best Regards

Steffen Baier

Polycom Global Services

Please be aware:

The purpose of these forums is to allow community members collaborate and help each other.
Questions posted here do not follow Polycom’s SLA guidelines.
If you require assistance from Polycom technical support, please open a
web service request or call us .

The above is necessary in order to track issue internally within Polycom.

You are welcome to post more questions or configuration or logs for other community members to look at but if your issue requires a fix via Polycom you must go via the official support structure.

Please ensure you always check the VoIP , Video Endpoint , Skype for Business , PSTN or RPM FAQ's

Please remember, if you see a post that helped you , and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accept as Solution".

This forum reply or post is based upon my personal experience and does not reflect the opinion or view of my employer.
Polycom employee participation within this community is not mandatory and any post or FAQ article provided by myself is done either during my working hours or outside working hours, in my private time, and may be answered on weekends, bank holidays or personal holidays.
Highlighted
Polycom Employee
Posts: 10

Re: Polycom VVX 500 video without camera

[ Edited ]

Hi anakaoka

 

I agree with Steffen that you should test phone to phone via Asterisk and again from phone to phone via IP dialing. Also double check that video works with another non-Polycom, non-Algo device if you have one available.

 

I looked at this and by default the VVX sends the same SDP on both Tx and Rx, inbound or outbound calls, with or without camera. I suspect it is a simple negotiation issue or simply a bug. 

 

You'll likely get a resolution directly from your reseller however if you past the SDP here we can possibly help your investigation. Just a quick snippet of just the SDP would be good.

Occasional Advisor
Posts: 8
0

Re: Polycom VVX 500 video without camera

Thanks, finally getting somewhere. Confirmed IP to IP works (1 camera and no camera).

 

But with Asterisk 13.12.2 it does not work.

 

Asterisk 13.12.2
relevant sip settings:
 
disallow=all
allow=g722
allow=ulaw
allow=h264
videosupport=yes
maxcallbitrate=384
 
 
SDP:
 
SENDING:
v=0
o=- 125 125 IN IP4 192.168.1.112
s=Polycom IP Phone
c=IN IP4 192.168.1.112
b=AS:512
t=0 0
a=sendrecv
m=audio 2226 RTP/AVP 9 102 0 8 18 127
a=rtpmap:9 G722/8000
a=rtpmap:102 G7221/16000
a=fmtp:102 bitrate=32000
a=rtpmap:0 PCMU/8000
a=rtpmap:8 PCMA/8000
a=rtpmap:18 G729/8000
a=fmtp:18 annexb=no
a=rtpmap:127 telephone-event/8000
m=video 2228 RTP/AVP 109 34
a=rtpmap:109 H264/90000
a=fmtp:109 profile-level-id=42800d
a=rtpmap:34 H263/90000
a=fmtp:34 CIF=1;QCIF=1;SQCIF=1
 
 
 
RECV:
v=0
o=- 972 972 IN IP4 192.168.1.144
s=Polycom IP Phone
c=IN IP4 192.168.1.144
b=AS:384
t=0 0
a=sendrecv
m=audio 2274 RTP/AVP 9 101
a=rtpmap:9 G722/8000
a=rtpmap:101 telephone-event/8000
a=sendrecv
m=video 2276 RTP/AVP 99
a=rtpmap:99 H264/90000
a=fmtp:99 profile-level-id=42800d
a=sendrecv
Occasional Advisor
Posts: 8
0

Re: Polycom VVX 500 video without camera

If we add a 2nd camera so both phones have camera via the same PBX (simply plugged in a USB camera), it works and the SDP looks the same: 

 

Sending

v=0
o=- 870 870 IN IP4 192.168.1.112
s=Polycom IP Phone
c=IN IP4 192.168.1.112
b=AS:512
t=0 0
a=sendrecv
m=audio 2238 RTP/AVP 9 102 0 8 18 127
a=rtpmap:9 G722/8000
a=rtpmap:102 G7221/16000
a=fmtp:102 bitrate=32000
a=rtpmap:0 PCMU/8000
a=rtpmap:8 PCMA/8000
a=rtpmap:18 G729/8000
a=fmtp:18 annexb=no
a=rtpmap:127 telephone-event/8000
m=video 2240 RTP/AVP 109 34
a=rtpmap:109 H264/90000
a=fmtp:109 profile-level-id=42800d
a=rtpmap:34 H263/90000
a=fmtp:34 CIF=1;QCIF=1;SQCIF=1
 
receiving
v=0
o=- 1565 1565 IN IP4 192.168.1.144
s=Polycom IP Phone
c=IN IP4 192.168.1.144
b=AS:384
t=0 0
a=sendrecv
m=audio 2282 RTP/AVP 9 101
a=rtpmap:9 G722/8000
a=rtpmap:101 telephone-event/8000
a=sendrecv
m=video 2284 RTP/AVP 99
a=rtpmap:99 H264/90000
a=fmtp:99 profile-level-id=42800d
a=sendrecv
 
Occasional Advisor
Posts: 8
0

Re: Polycom VVX 500 video without camera

Is your asterisk on the LAN ? 

 

We are testing with an Asterisk server on public IP and the (2) VVX 501's behind a NAT, I'm wondering if the SIP Redirect is needed for this to work? 


Chad_A wrote:

Hi anakaoka

 

I agree with Steffen that you should test phone to phone via Asterisk and again from phone to phone via IP dialing. Also double check that video works with another non-Polycom, non-Algo device if you have one available.

 

I looked at this and by default the VVX sends the same SDP on both Tx and Rx, inbound or outbound calls, with or without camera. I suspect it is a simple negotiation issue or simply a bug. 

 

You'll likely get a resolution directly from your reseller however if you past the SDP here we can possibly help your investigation. Just a quick snippet of just the SDP would be good.


 

Polycom Employee & Community Manager
Posts: 14,030
0

Re: Polycom VVX 500 video without camera

Hello anakaoka,

 

Yes it is on the same lan as the phones.

 

Content of the sip.conf:

 

allow=g722
allow=g729
allow=ulaw
allow=alaw
allow=h263p
allow=h261
allow=h264

I did some brief test this morning and took a SIP trace on the phone end:

 

VVX Unregistered and no Camera VVX Registered and no Camera
v=0 v=0
o=- 1504681199 1504681199 IN IP4 10.252.149.55 o=- 1504681311 1504681311 IN IP4 10.252.149.55
s=Polycom IP Phone s=Polycom IP Phone
c=IN IP4 10.252.149.55 c=IN IP4 10.252.149.55
b=AS:512 b=AS:512
t=0 0 t=0 0
a=sendrecv a=sendrecv
m=audio 2230 RTP/AVP 9 102 0 8 18 127 m=audio 2234 RTP/AVP 9 102 0 8 18 127
a=rtpmap:9 G722/8000 a=rtpmap:9 G722/8000
a=rtpmap:102 G7221/16000 a=rtpmap:102 G7221/16000
a=fmtp:102 bitrate=32000 a=fmtp:102 bitrate=32000
a=rtpmap:0 PCMU/8000 a=rtpmap:0 PCMU/8000
a=rtpmap:8 PCMA/8000 a=rtpmap:8 PCMA/8000
a=rtpmap:18 G729/8000 a=rtpmap:18 G729/8000
a=fmtp:18 annexb=no a=fmtp:18 annexb=no
a=rtpmap:127 telephone-event/8000 a=rtpmap:127 telephone-event/8000
m=video 2232 RTP/AVP 109 34 m=video 2236 RTP/AVP 109 34
a=rtpmap:109 H264/90000 a=rtpmap:109 H264/90000
a=fmtp:109 profile-level-id=42800d a=fmtp:109 profile-level-id=42800d
a=rtpmap:34 H263/90000 a=rtpmap:34 H263/90000
a=fmtp:34 CIF=1;QCIF=1;SQCIF=1 a=fmtp:34 CIF=1;QCIF=1;SQCIF=1

 

and

 

VVX unregistered and a Camera VVX Registered and a Camera
v=0 v=0
o=- 1504681132 1504681132 IN IP4 10.252.149.55 o=- 1504681365 1504681365 IN IP4 10.252.149.55
s=Polycom IP Phone s=Polycom IP Phone
c=IN IP4 10.252.149.55 c=IN IP4 10.252.149.55
b=AS:512 b=AS:512
t=0 0 t=0 0
a=sendrecv a=sendrecv
m=audio 2222 RTP/AVP 9 102 0 8 18 127 m=audio 2238 RTP/AVP 9 102 0 8 18 127
a=rtpmap:9 G722/8000 a=rtpmap:9 G722/8000
a=rtpmap:102 G7221/16000 a=rtpmap:102 G7221/16000
a=fmtp:102 bitrate=32000 a=fmtp:102 bitrate=32000
a=rtpmap:0 PCMU/8000 a=rtpmap:0 PCMU/8000
a=rtpmap:8 PCMA/8000 a=rtpmap:8 PCMA/8000
a=rtpmap:18 G729/8000 a=rtpmap:18 G729/8000
a=fmtp:18 annexb=no a=fmtp:18 annexb=no
a=rtpmap:127 telephone-event/8000 a=rtpmap:127 telephone-event/8000
m=video 2224 RTP/AVP 109 34 m=video 2240 RTP/AVP 109 34
a=rtpmap:109 H264/90000 a=rtpmap:109 H264/90000
a=fmtp:109 profile-level-id=42800d a=fmtp:109 profile-level-id=42800d
a=rtpmap:34 H263/90000 a=rtpmap:34 H263/90000
a=fmtp:34 CIF=1;QCIF=1;SQCIF=1 a=fmtp:34 CIF=1;QCIF=1;SQCIF=1

 

Both times it worked as described.

 

I suggest you seek support from whoever installed your solution as this at present is working as designed.


Please ensure to provide some feedback if this reply has helped you so other users can profit from your experience.

Best Regards

Steffen Baier

Polycom Global Services

Please be aware:

The purpose of these forums is to allow community members collaborate and help each other.
Questions posted here do not follow Polycom’s SLA guidelines.
If you require assistance from Polycom technical support, please open a
web service request or call us .

The above is necessary in order to track issue internally within Polycom.

You are welcome to post more questions or configuration or logs for other community members to look at but if your issue requires a fix via Polycom you must go via the official support structure.

Please ensure you always check the VoIP , Video Endpoint , Skype for Business , PSTN or RPM FAQ's

Please remember, if you see a post that helped you , and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accept as Solution".

This forum reply or post is based upon my personal experience and does not reflect the opinion or view of my employer.
Polycom employee participation within this community is not mandatory and any post or FAQ article provided by myself is done either during my working hours or outside working hours, in my private time, and may be answered on weekends, bank holidays or personal holidays.