Kirk 6000 - Call Progress Tones - Ringtone

Occasional Advisor

Kirk 6000 - Call Progress Tones - Ringtone

Hi

I am new to the Kirk 6000 product and I have hit a bit of a brick wall, and I was hoping to be pointed in the right direction if possible.

I have a very basic setup on test with Kirk 6000 server, 2 base stations and 2 handsets 5020 & 4040. I have literally unboxed the device yesterday and have performed some basic functionality tests. It soon became apparent that no Call Progress Tones were present on the 5020 handset. After upgrading to the most recent firmware I now have most of the CPT.

However I am still not hearing ring tone at the 5020 earpiece whilst making an outgoing call. Whilst I trawl through some SIP traces I thought I would post on here to see if anybody had any similar experiences.

Many thanks.

Buzzby

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES
Occasional Advisor

Re: Kirk 6000 - Call Progress Tones - Ring Back Tone

Hi All

Just thought I would put some more meat on the bones regarding this issue.

Having gone through the SIP traces it would appear that the Kirk Server and Extension are not sending RTP during the call setup. When the call is established between the Kirk and the far end, two way communication is achieved.

It would appear that when I presumed no ring back tone was being generated, I am actually experiencing one way audio.

Hopefully this will strike accord with somebody out there, and as mentioned earlier any help is appreciated.

Many thanks.

Message 2 of 4
Frequent Advisor

Hi Buzzby

The call progess tones are generated in the handset at a DECT level and they are generated based upon the SIP call progress.

In the case of SIP they will generate ringback when 180 Ringing is sent by the call handler.  I have been told that the KWS6000 will also use the 183 early media however I've never seen this.

One thing you might have seen but maybe not is on the status menu in the KWS6000 you can grab some packet captures to see whats happening.