Plantronics + Polycom. Now together as Poly Logo

Converging shifts in technology, demographics, culture and physical workspaces has changed the way businesses engage with and buy from channel partners.  Customers are now demanding more from channel partners. Joao Santos, Channel Account Manager at Polycom, a six-year collaboration industry veteran has seen the evolution first hand. Joao is focussed on helping partners navigate today's competitive environment. 

Get to know Joao, both his passion for the channel and his unique perspective on how it is similar to running, his other passion. Joao shares his take on working with solution providers as well as his experience running his sixth Boston Marathon. 

What is your current position with Polycom? 
Joao: I joined Polycom in August 2014 and it’s been great. Everyone is motivated and I love our fast paced, almost frenetic environment. I am a channel account manager in New England and I’m responsible for managing small to mid-sized partners. I’ve been in the industry for six years.

What is the recipe for success for the partners you work with in today’s challenging environment?

Joao:  and all comes down to the long term goal. Once it is determined, the next step is to design a plan and take the incremental steps required to achieve that long term goal.

JSBoston Marathon foto 28.jpg

The collaboration industry is evolving to accommodate the work place of the future. What can partners do to succeed?

Joao: Just like training for a marathon, it’s all about consistency. For example, from nutrition to running in bad weather, if you set out to run a marathon you have to stick with it. It’s the small wins that contribute to overall success for small to mid-size partners.  We’re doing everything we can at Polycom to work alongside them to help them execute their business plan.  But consistency is the key to helping their customers and growing over time. Success will happen, but it will occur over time.