Plantronics + Polycom. Now together as Poly Logo

Polycom Employee

I ordered a sandwich for lunch today, and as I ate it, I contemplated its user experience. Why on earth would I think of this? Well, I’m a User Experience Designer. In my profession, if you’re extremely engaged and passionate about what you do, you start to notice the user experience of EVERYTHING. It’s not just about technology; it’s about life.

Take my sandwich: I ordered it to go, which means I eat it at my desk with one hand while catching up on my online news. This is obvious to me—and I’m the eater (user). The first problem was that when I picked up half of it while using my mouse with my other hand, the whole sandwich came with it (still attached by a small piece of uncut crust), and I almost lost it all on the floor. It wouldn’t be a big deal for a person who took their time and checked this first, but I never do because I have subconscious assumptions and expectations. They’re based on my own logic and my previous experiences with this sandwich shop: this has never happened before so I didn’t check.