Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
The HP Community is where owners of HP products, like you, volunteer to help each other find solutions.
HP Recommended

Hi

Sorry this is a very basic question, but I have no experience with Polycom systems!

I have been given an unused Polycom RealPresence Group Series 500 device and have been asked to set it up to allow a videoconference with an external 3rd party.  The 3rd party have given me what appears to be a public IP address to call.

I have powered on the group series, and found it has SIP enabled, and some Skype For Business Online credentials are entered.  I found I was able to start a conference to a Skype for Business user, but I am unable to dial public IP addresses,  I cannot dial the Polycom Test IP addresses.  I get a message stating that there was an error and to contact my network administrator.

Should a group series be able to dial public IP addresses using Microsoft SIP?  if not how do I get it to dial a public IP, what is the correct settings to set, do I need to use H.323 (whatever that is?).  Do I have to go via a paid for service broker?  Also what kind of network does it need to be on, will this work on a normal broadband connection?