Plantronics + Polycom. Now together as Poly Logo

Deleting provisioning files after CCX/VVX phone has been provisioned

SOLVED
GeorgeN
Advisor

Deleting provisioning files after CCX/VVX phone has been provisioned

Are there any consequences to permanently deleting a phones (VVX/CCX) provisioning files off the provisioning server after the phone has been successfully provisioned? (For security reasons)

 

I still however want to configure the handsets to check-in to the provisioning server every 24 hours to see if there is any config updates.

 

Are there any foreseeable issue with the handsets logging into the provisioning server repeatedly and finding no config files (due to intentional deletion)?

 

VVX firmware version 5.6

CCX firmware version 6.2

GN
Message 1 of 5
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SteffenBaierUK
Polycom Employee & Community Manager

Re: Deleting provisioning files after CCX/VVX phone has been provisioned

Hello @GeorgeN 

 

I was incorrect, we only dismiss the whole configuration if we cannot load it fully via the provisioning server i.e. a file was missing.

 

To my own personal knowledge, there is no limit or part of the code that would discard the configuration.

 

Best regards

 

Steffen Baier

----------------
The title Polycom Employee & Community Manager is a community setting and does not reflect my role. I am just a simple volunteer in the community like everybody else. My official "day" Job is 3rd Level support at Poly but I am unable to provide official support via the community.

----------------

Notice: This community forum is not an official Poly support resource, thus responses from Poly employees, partners, and customers alike are best-effort in attempts to share learned knowledge. If you need immediate and/or official assistance please open a service ticket through your proper support channels.
Please also ensure you always check the VoIP , Video Endpoint , Skype for Business , PSTN or RPM FAQ's

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
SteffenBaierUK
Polycom Employee & Community Manager

Re: Deleting provisioning files after CCX/VVX phone has been provisioned

Hello @GeorgeN ,

Welcome back to the Poly community.

Some or a couple of your old post(s) or reply(s) to them => here <= are still open/pending as you have not marked these as "Accept as a solution" or at least provide some form of feedback or answer.

If they are in this state nobody finding them via a community search will know if an answer or advice provided was useful and has maybe helped you.

Could you therefore kindly go over them and mark or answer as appropriate?

If they are marked as "Accept as a solution" other users can find these easier and it helps them to utilise the community more efficiently. Please do not simply mark them without any type of feedback.

 

For your new question, if you provision the phone from the server, and it can no longer find the files on a reboot, the phone will not be configured.


Please ensure to provide some feedback if this reply has helped you so other users can profit from your experience.

Best Regards

Steffen Baier

----------------
The title Polycom Employee & Community Manager is a community setting and does not reflect my role. I am just a simple volunteer in the community like everybody else. My official "day" Job is 3rd Level support at Poly but I am unable to provide official support via the community.

----------------

Notice: This community forum is not an official Poly support resource, thus responses from Poly employees, partners, and customers alike are best-effort in attempts to share learned knowledge. If you need immediate and/or official assistance please open a service ticket through your proper support channels.
Please also ensure you always check the VoIP , Video Endpoint , Skype for Business , PSTN or RPM FAQ's
Message 2 of 5
GeorgeN
Advisor

Re: Deleting provisioning files after CCX/VVX phone has been provisioned

"if you provision the phone from the server, and it can no longer find the files on a reboot, the phone will not be configured."

 

This is however not what is observed. Although provisioning fails after a reboot (because the files are no longer on the provisioning server), the phone is returning to its pre-reboot working config.

 

The question is how long will this be the case? indefinitely or is there a limit?

GN
Message 3 of 5
SteffenBaierUK
Polycom Employee & Community Manager

Re: Deleting provisioning files after CCX/VVX phone has been provisioned

Hello @GeorgeN 

 

I was incorrect, we only dismiss the whole configuration if we cannot load it fully via the provisioning server i.e. a file was missing.

 

To my own personal knowledge, there is no limit or part of the code that would discard the configuration.

 

Best regards

 

Steffen Baier

----------------
The title Polycom Employee & Community Manager is a community setting and does not reflect my role. I am just a simple volunteer in the community like everybody else. My official "day" Job is 3rd Level support at Poly but I am unable to provide official support via the community.

----------------

Notice: This community forum is not an official Poly support resource, thus responses from Poly employees, partners, and customers alike are best-effort in attempts to share learned knowledge. If you need immediate and/or official assistance please open a service ticket through your proper support channels.
Please also ensure you always check the VoIP , Video Endpoint , Skype for Business , PSTN or RPM FAQ's

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 5
GeorgeN
Advisor

Re: Deleting provisioning files after CCX/VVX phone has been provisioned

Thanks Steffen

 

Ok, so if all its configuration files are deleted from the provisioning server then the phone will always fall back to the configuration that is in its memory until such time as new configuration files are provided on the provisioning server. (please let me know if there is anything inaccurate about this statement).

 

As a follow on to this, since the phone will check the provisioning server in perpetuity, if a time comes where you want to disconnect the handset permanently, is there any configuration file settings that will make the handset perform a "reset to factory"?

 

 

 

 

GN
Message 5 of 5