Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
The HP Community is where owners of HP products, like you, volunteer to help each other find solutions.
HP Recommended

Let's say I have a desk phone and a conference phone in my office that I want to have the same extension and keep state information (idle, hold, busy) between the two phones.  But as an installer I want to setup the office phones quickly by simply creating my extension-phone cfg files and use hot-desking and have users login to their phones.

Is it possible to login to my two shared line phones using the same extension?

I've experimented and I've noticed that I can login to a shared line type however, the document, "Feature Profile 60688 Making Phone Settings Portable with User Profiles" advises against multiple same-user login.  Is this only advised against private line types or will this multple login actually work for shared lines?

2 REPLIES 2
HP Recommended

I realize that this is an old question, but I figure it deserves an answer anyway, just in case someone else with the same question comes searching for one later.

The document that you reference doesn't really go into detail about why having multiple phones logged into the same profile is not supported by Polycom and not recommended, but I can hypothesize: