Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
The HP Community is where owners of HP products, like you, volunteer to help each other find solutions.
HP Recommended

Hello,

I am not sure how this happened, as I am fairly new at administrating Polycom phones. I added a phone extension by copying the config of an existing phone's configuration and changing the pertinent parts (MAC address) and the phone worked as desired. The next morning I come into the office and find all the phones have had their 2 extra soft keys missing (the default New Call and Forward are there) and all are displaying January 1st as their time. All the phones rebooted at 3am for some arbitrary reason and lost their NTP information.

I have since been able to fix their date/time by adding in the correct NTP information to sip.cfg, but I cannot re-add softkeys. I've pined through documentation and read up on macros and adding lines to XML files but I am unsure where to add things and even trying a few things I can't make the soft keys show up. Is there a guide available somewhere for this? The phones' FW version is 3.0.1.

Chris

5 REPLIES 5
HP Recommended

Hello Chris,

welcome to the Polycom Community.

Have a look around the FAQ and utilize the search function as these subjects haven been discussed on many occasions.