Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
The HP Community is where owners of HP products, like you, volunteer to help each other find solutions.
HP Recommended

Hi all,

I'm just getting started with the Polycom VVX 300.  For now, I have a completely flat network, basic class C, no internal firewalls, no MAC filtering, and no VLANs.  The VVX300 wasn't obtaining a DHCP address, so I set a static IP address.  Info:

IP:  192.168.1.90

GW: 192.168.1.1

Mask:  255.255.255.0

It's a very simple, flat network.  I can (and have) plug in any out of the box device and get a DHCP address.  At any rate, the phone is not communicating over IP.  I cannot ping it, I cannot connect to the provisioning server from the phone. 

One funny quirk - if I connect a computer to the ethernet pass-through port on the back of the phone, I can run a persistent ping to the IP address.  During initialization, once the LCD display reads "Application Started", the ping starts to respond.  It sits at this screen for maybe 30 seonds, during which time the ping responds.  Then the LCD screen goes blank (lit up) and the ping starts failing again.  That is the only time and scenario that I've had any evidence of IP communication to the phone.  Not sure if that's relevant, but figured I'd mention it for the sake of completeness.