Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
The HP Community is where owners of HP products, like you, volunteer to help each other find solutions.
HP Recommended

One of our administrative staff ordered a Sound Station IP7000 to replace a SoundStation Premier.  I have no experience with IP phones.  The directions are straight forward except the phone is not getting any boot paramters.

After digging around in the forums, I came across the whole provisioning server thing.  The staff person was not told this was a requirement for using the IP7000.  To my knowledge there is no such server on our network.

After further reading, I learned that a provisioning server can be set up but one needs to know what software version and ROM version the phone is using to ensure proper functionality because the provisioning server needs to run a compatible version.  This apparently can only be gotten by using the 'Menu' button.  But the menu button doesn't do anything.  I'm guessing because the phone has no IP.  So now I'm in this "Catch-22" situation if the menu button only works with an IP because I can't get an IP without a provisioning server.  If I give the phone a static IP, can I log onto the phone using a browser?

Is a server really necessary?  How do find out what software version the phone is using if the menu button doesn't do anything.

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
HP Recommended