Plantronics + Polycom. Now together as Poly Logo

Soundpoint 450 IP POE

Occasional Visitor

Soundpoint 450 IP POE

Dear all,

i am new to the setup of polycom telehones. I am having 17 polycom soundpoint IP450 PoE sets at site. They are all connected to a Elastix Server.

I already configured the phone and they are working fine.

But i am facing one problem,

When i am connecting my phone to PoE and the distance is less than 10meter from PoE port and telephone, it works fine.

But when i am connecting my phone from PoE with a distance more than 10 meter than my phone is getting power but  when i am trying to call to another phone, there is no ring tone after dialing.

Also i am not able to ping the phone if the distance is more than 10 meters from PoE port.

if i am right, Usually it should work until 100 meters .

I checked the ethernet cable (CAT-6) and its ok. The phone are connected at 100 Mbps.

Kindly help me if there is any configuration mistake.

Regards,

Tariq

Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
Polycom Employee & Community Manager

Re: Soundpoint 450 IP POE

Hello Tariq,

welcome to the Polycom Community.

I just plugged a 10m Patch Cable in my Linksys SRW208P PoE Switch and a SPIP450 just works fine.

Usually the 100m limitation applies to Ethernet in general, not PoE.

I would suggest you check if your switch is able to produce enough Power for all the Phones connected.

An PoE Usage can be found => here <=

Please contact your Polycom Reseller for further support.

Best Regards

Steffen Baier

Polycom Global Services

<======== Signature / Disclaimer ========>
Please be aware:For questions about the type of support to expect please check here

Please also ensure you always check the VoIP , Video Endpoint , Skype for Business , PSTN or RPM FAQ's

Please remember, if you see a post that helped you , and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accept as Solution".